Asian Martha Stewart

5 06 2008

That’s actually what the bf called me today since I kept showing him every hour something new I just baked! Haha I don’t know what it is, but on my day offs I feel like I have to try all of the recipes I’ve ever laid my eyes on.. But he doesn’t complain at all 😉

So kitchen addiction #1 resulted in Baked Apple-Raisin Oatmeal. Same recipe as always but added some raisins for something different.

My piece with homemade applesauce and a teaspoon of almond butter that the bf & I are completely obsessed with! He says it tastes like Nutella, but for me it tastes like pb but.. better!

Kitchen addiction #2 = Granola. I just eyeballed everything that I put in but here’s a rough recipe:

  1. Mix in a large bowl until combined: 3 tbsp honey, 2 tbsp brown sugar and 2 tbsp water.
  2. Add to the liquid mixture: 3 cups oats, 1/4 cup slivered almonds, 1 cup cereal of choice (I used half Kashi Go Lean Crunch & half Nature’s Path Flax Plus Raisin Bran)
  3. Stir until dry mixture is evenly coated.
  4. Spread evenly on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.
  5. Bake for 20 min. (or until golden-brown) in a 375 degree oven, moving granola occasionally.

It wasn’t too much on the sweet/sticky side since I didn’t want to use a lot of sugar, but definitely crunchy which equals a good granola to me! No more granola from the bulk bins at the grocery since it’s all loaded with nasty sugars anyways 😛

Kitchen addiction #3 brought about Whole Wheat Bagels (this I must say, am most proud of :D) The recipe I got from Happy Herbivore.. and they were so easy for a yeast newbie for me! I’ve never baked with yeast before so I stared at it confusingly for a couple seconds as it got all brown and foamy and thought.. “Is it supposed to look like that?!”

Sprinkled some flaxseed on top before baking. Look at them sitting all cute and looking like they were store bought 🙂 Some other bagels I’m thinking of making next time are

  • Cinnamon Raisin
  • Blueberry
  • Strawberry
  • Banana (with mashed banana & banana chips)
  • Something to do with pumpkin?

Any other ideas.. holler!

Went to the gym to get some cardio & upper body workouts in. When we got home I didn’t really have a formal lunch since we were rushing out the door, so I just ended up nibbling on a whole bunch of stuff which I guess was “lunch”.. pear, small handful of granola, ripped off a tiny piece of the bf’s bagel smeared with almond butter and finally a Clif bar.

    

I didn’t eat this but here’s the bf’s AB&B bagel. He said it was so fresh-out-of-the-oven tasting and a lot better than the store bought bagels we usually get. Yay me! 🙂

By the time dinner came around I was STARVING because we hit rush hour, therefore sat in traffic for what felt like 10 days!!

But when we got home it was BBQ time! Here’s the Black Bean Burgers (from Veganomicon–hey, this is kitchen addiction #4!) getting all grilled up that I luckily prepared earlier in the day.

(And I can’t lie, I had a chunk of the leftover baked oatmeal while dinner was cooking!)

Dinner was faaaabulous! Grilled veggies are my most favorite way ever of eating them, their flavors always come out so nicely. My plate was another veggie fiesta! Black bean burger, mushrooms, zucchini, carrots, corn on the cob, and a teeeny piece of chicken breast. Went back for another corn cob since I can never get enough of those little guys!  

 

2 more days til the weekend!! And even though it’s only Thursday tomorrow, I’m going clubbing because it’s one of my best friends’ birthday. Not really up for it since I have to get up early Friday morning, so no drinks for me! 😛


Actions

Information

6 responses

5 06 2008
koootz

seriously grilled veggies are the way to go. once it stops raining im going to take all the zucchini, peppers, and onions from my mom’s garden and grill them- enough to last me a week… more like 3 days though

5 06 2008
Kristie

I can never get enough grilled veggies. Sometimes for dinner I’ll just eat a giant plate of grilled veggies and nothing else. Delicious.

Everything you made looks SO good. How did you make that applesauce, what’s in it?

I think I am going to give that granola recipe a try today!

5 06 2008
VeggieGirl

Oh my, the Baked Apple-Raisin oatmeal, black-bean burgers, bagels, AND the granola look amazing – you truly ARE a Martha Stewart type!! haha :0D I’d say that you should bake something with berries next – they’re at their peak freshness right now.

5 06 2008
Christie

Can you post your recipe for the baked apple oatmeal.. looks great!

6 06 2008
Inspired Eatings « Lighter Portions

[…] begins the inspirations. Richelle inspired me with her Granola, so I had to try making some for myself. I made a slightly smaller […]

6 06 2008
Richelle

Kristie – you should try out the granola recipe! Really easy and has the perrrrfect crunch without being too sweet and sugary. As for the applesauce I just puree a chopped apple with a little water (with the skin on–more fiber!) in a blender until all of the chunks are gone.

VG – I really want to try out a berry bagel but always end up using the berries for my smoothies, next thing I know theyre all finished 😦 Hopefully next time!

Christie – The baked apple oatmeal I based my recipe from here:

Baked Oatmeal Recipe


The only things I’ve changed are layering apple slices on the bottom of the pan as well as on the top of the oatmeal. I also put in about 1tbsp of cinnamon into the batter and this time threw in a handful of raisins.

Leave a comment