Just one of em days..

6 06 2008

Yep, one of those days when I feel like snacking on everything.. just out of pure boredom! Good thing I always keep myself busy, otherwise I would have packed on some major pounds by now!

Morning was a good start with my cereal smorgasbord! Fiber First, Nature’s Path Raisin Bran, Kashi GoLean Crunch with bananas and raisins. I wasn’t feeling up for the bananas today though (SHOCKER!!) so I just pushed the little guys to the side. But I seriously could live on this breakfast. I am not even joking.. I crave for it at every meal but I know my body can’t live on just carbs and bananas forever!

Found a bag of baby carrots and snacked on a few (out of boredom!!)

Lunch was leftovers from last night’s BBQ but still just as good when I warmed everything up in the toaster oven to keep the crunchy/grilled taste. Small piece of chicken breast, black bean patty with dijon mustard shmeared on top, grilled zucchini, tomatoes & carrots.

Had a “steamed salad” to add to the veggie count! Steamed broccoli, baby carrots, and 2 mini corn on the cobs with soy-ginger dressing to dip.

Then starting from here my boredom eating was getting all wonky.. baked apple oatmeal crisp (finished maybe half of this?)

Later on with snack #2.. a handful of Multigrain Cheerios

Then I found THIS terrible thing in the freezer!!!! Chapman’s Maple Walnut Frozen Yogurt.

Oh. My. Lord. Let’s just say I had a couple bites too many (but oh man it was sooo worth it!) Frozen yogurt + any type of nut + uncontrollable hand + spoon + me = will power out the window.

For dinner, the bf’s mom made Shrimp Sinigang which is a Filipino dish and umm.. I have no idea how to explain it so I Wikipedia-ed it for all of you 🙂

“Sinigang is a Philippine dish famous for the variety of ingredients one can use as well as for its taste. Sinigang is typically sour and is most often likened to Thailand‘s tom yam.

Sinigang often incorporates stewed fish, pork, chicken, shrimp, or beef. Sinigang’s characteristic taste is attributed to the ingredient that gives its sour taste, not to the meat’s flavor.

Pork sinigang, the most common variety, is usually prepared with tamarind (which provides the sourness), tomato, leek, taro and onion. Other vegetables cooked in sinigang may include okra, spinach, radish, green pepper and string beans.”

So since I went all snack-crazy earlier today, kept my portions at dinner pretty small using our handy teeny-tiny bowls! Served my Shrimp Sinigang (those greens are just spinach in case you’re thinking it’s some special exotic vegetable) over some multigrain wild rice and had a small leftover piece of grilled chicken breast.

Lucky me has a late start at work tomorrow so I’m heading to the gym and possibly yoga? I always want to drop in a class but never find the time! YAY to Fridays! 😀 BOO to a whole weekend of rain 😦  

Actions

Information

3 responses

6 06 2008
arielle

the grilled veggies look amazing! makes me so jealous that i don’t have a grill. or even a backyard to put one in.

6 06 2008
VeggieGirl

Looks like a delicious day of snacking; especially with the grilled vegetables! Yum!

Enjoy the gym!! Happy Friday!! Yeah, it’s raining like mad here :0(

8 06 2008
koootz

that maple yogurt sounds amazing

Leave a Reply

