Movin on down..

11 06 2008

To TEXAS! Yep, everything is pretty much finalized for my move in August. Here’s a little summary of what’s happening..

I was originally going to attend school for Medical Radiology, but my mom always tried to persuade me to go into Nursing (she’s an RN herself). I was on the iffy-side about it, not knowing if it was the right field for me and whatnot. But I thought about it for a while, talked it over with friends who are already in the program and realized that it is something that I’m really interested in doing.. so I’m going for it :D!

My mom & cousins live in Houston, so I’ll be moving there mid-August to being my pre-requisite classes and I’m keeping my fingers crossed that I’ll get accepted for at least the programs’ Fall 2009 intake.

As for the bf, I can’t imagine living THAT far away from him for so long :(! He’s hoping to get into school there as well, but since he’s a Canadian citizen the process is a bit longer. We’re praying that he’ll be able to get in for either Winter or next Fall semester. Ahh.. we’ll see what’s going to happen! For now, I’m trying to make myself believe that distance will make the heart grow fonder. Cheesy I know, but I need something to help me keep positive!!

Anyways, enough of my life story.. FOOD TIME!

Do I even need to type this out anymore?! Nature’s Path FlaxPlus Multigrain, Fiber One, Kashi GoLean Crunch all topped off with, you guessed it.. raisins! 😛

Pre-gym snack were two Banana-Apple & Raisin Oatmeal Cookies. We chose the most perfect time ever to work out.. you could basically count the people that were in the gym. I love my open space! Warmed up with 10 min on the bike, ab/back/arm weighted exercises, then finished off with 20 min doing tough intervals on the elliptical. Intervals are one of my favorite ways to end a workout with a sweaty.. glow 🙂

Since I pre-made a huge batch of quinoa, I quickly whipped up this Chicken & Tomato Quinoa for the bf. This was really good, I was even amazed with myself as I basically just chucked in whatever still looked edible in the fridge.. and look what turned out! I modified it and put it in the Recipes section. So tasty, healthy and made in less than 15 minutes.. what else can ya ask for!

So while the bf had my new creation for lunch, I was stuck eating the leftover Chickea Quinoa Pilaf from yesterday because someone’s gotta finish it! Also finished up a couple grilled sweet potatoes from the barbeque the other day and made some of my Perfect Stir-fry but just with some bok choy this time because I was too lazy to chop anything else up 😛

An iced coffee and a small piece of Upside Down Apple Pie for dessert was sooo perfect for the afternoon.

Then I come home to the house smelling like fresh pizza! The bf’s mom made a whole bunch, but on.. white processed cheesy pizza bread. I am not a big fan of processed cheese at all. It just tastes so.. PROCESSED (to say the least)! To compensate, I had some of the leftover pizza toppings which was made with ground chicken, zucchini, yellow peppers and fresh mozzarella cheese. Ate that along with the last of the Chickpea Quinoa Pilaf and some of the bf’s leftover Chicken & Tomato Quinoa from lunch.. with chopsticks of course

Nighttime munchies took over.. so I handled them gracefully with a glass of water, pear slices and a Banana-Apple & Raisin Cookie which later on was multiplied by 2 😉

Good news.. the weather is finally starting to clear up, perfect timing as it’s my day off tomorrow! WOOHOO! Happy Humpday everybody :D!

Actions

Information

6 responses

11 06 2008
lindzakins921

that’s such a delicious looking way to enjoy quinoa!

i love raisins in cereal it gives it such a good sweetness 🙂

11 06 2008
VeggieGirl

How exciting that everything is finalized for your move!! Hooray!! :0)

Mmm, more delicious food – everything looks fantastic!!

11 06 2008
Kristie

Oh wow, moving to Texas eh? Best of luck with that and with school! Are you originally from there then since your family is there?

I envy your control when it comes to nighttime munchies! I think I need a little more work in that department 😉

11 06 2008
Richelle

Kristie – Well I was born in L.A. then we moved up to Vancouver, but my mom & brother recently moved to Houston for my brother’s college since we have relatives there. Should be a new and hopefully good experience! Eeek =/

11 06 2008
Jenn

Congrats on your school plans, Richelle! If it makes you feel better – I had to spend the fall semester away from my boyfriend, and while it was hard – distance did make the heart grow fonder, so it is definitely possible 🙂

11 06 2008
Romina

That’s fantastic news! i hope it works out for you. =) It will be nice to be surrounded by family, I hope your boyfriend can make it down soon.

Leave a Reply

