Case of the sniffles

8 06 2008

Ugh woke up this morning with that stuffy nose, mushy-head feeling.. BLAH! I’m thinking it’s because we slept with the window wide open last night, but over time I’m starting to believe that’s just another old wive’s tale that my mom used to tell me. So who knows!

Yesterday I was at home all day long since I had to take care of the bf who was suffering from a bad hangover from the night before! Whatta party animal. So I rented the complete second season of Sex and the City on dvd and made the bf watch it with me 🙂 Surprisingly he got really into it and I had to kind of tear him away from the tv for a bit.. Now it shouldn’t be a problem taking him to go see the movie again 😉

For breakfast I had (surprise, surprise) my cereal smorgasbord of Fiber First, Nature’s Path Raisin Bran, Kashi Go Lean Crunch with bananas and raisins. I swear, once I find a breakfast that I love.. I’m hooked! But don’t worry, you won’t be seeing my repeat cereal bowl every morning pretty soon since our boxes are close to empty 😦

We had the perfect veggies in the drawer for Shrimp Stir Fry. I think I’ve finally perfected a method for stir-frying..

  1. Saute 1 tsp of minced ginger and a minced garlic clove in a med-high wok until ginger is fragrant.
  2. Add a chopped onion and a handful of chopped green onions and saute until onion is translucent.
  3. Place shrimp into the wok, sprinkle with black pepper and remove when shrimp barely cook (they should just turn pink–about 1 min per side)
  4. Add chopped mushrooms and roughly sliced baby bok choy to wok. Drizzle 1 tsp of sesame oil, 1 tbsp of water, 3 tbsp light soy sauce and 2 tbsp rice vinegar.
  5. Stir-fry until all bok choy is wilted.
  6. Sprinkle with chopped almonds, peanuts, or cashews and CHOW DOWN! 🙂

Munched on a small plate of sliced pears, pineapples and a handful of homemade granola while working our way through the SATC dvds!

Did some at-home workouts since I couldn’t head to gym.. but still workout up a nice sweat! Did the Ab Ripper from P90X, various arm exercises, and got some ideas from here for some lower body.

I was planning to make some Cinnamon-Raisin bagels but we were running low on ww flour so put together this recipe of Apple-Banana & Raisin Oatmeal Cookies!

Pretty random but all of the flavors really worked out together.

This made about 30 mini-cookies, about half the size of the palm of your hand. Yeah I’m aware that only 28 are shown here.. but I had to taste two of them fresh right out of the oven 😉

Posted this up on the Recipes page (along with the stir-fry) so try out these healthy little suckers!

For dinner we finally left the house and met up two other friends for some late-night Japanese tapas. Everything is served in small, appetizer-sized portions which works out perfectly because you get a taste of everything without feeling stuffed to the rim. Sadly, no pictures of all of the yumminess that occured last night because I forgot the cam, but you’ll just have to go out and try it for yourselves!

See you all later!

Actions

Information

5 responses

8 06 2008
VeggieGirl

Ahh, sounds like you’re suffering from major allergy symptoms – hang in there!! And feel better!! :0)

Wow, those Apple-Banana & Raisin oatmeal cookies look MARVELOUS!! Nice job!!

8 06 2008
glidingcalm

Those cookies look great! I totally don’t understand people that can NOT sample one out of the oven. It’s completely necessary!

8 06 2008
Christie

Do you have the PX90 dvd??? I wanted to order it but i knew it was a lot and would love to hear what you think of it!

8 06 2008
ChocolateCoveredVegan

Ooh, I just had to tell you it’s so cool you’re Filipino. I lived there for a short while– definitely the weirdest food I encountered was cheese ice cream!

Your cookies look and sound delish :o)

9 06 2008
Richelle

Christie – My bf was the one that bought the P90X series but I use it too and love it! I really only do Ab Ripper X though because for the legs/arms/back dvds, you need larger weights which I don’t have at home. I get a REALLY good workout from it, so I def think you should look into ordering it! It also has stretching/yoga/pylometrics dvds that are awesome as well. I think it is kind of pricey, but well worth the money in my opinion.

CCV – Wow, I don’t think I saw cheese ice cream when I visited, but I’m not surprised because they have THE most random foods. Like rice and spaghetti at McDonald’s?!

Leave a Reply

