Computers don’t like me

7 06 2008

Yep another late post since we got home at 6 in the morning from last night’s shenanigans..

Yesterday’s breakfast was what I like to call my new oatmeal.. a mixed bowl of Nature’s Path Raisin Bran, Fiber First, Kashi Go Lean Crunch topped with raisins but sans bananas!

Had one of the last Crunchy Peanut Butter Clif Bars left.. I swear a whole box doesn’t even last us a week!

Lunch was the last whole wheat bagel from the batch I made a couple days ago. It got a little dense.. but still good! Stuffed this tiny one with almond butter & bananas.

And here are my last food pictures since my computer was not on my side this morning! I accidentally deleted some pictures that I haven’t uploaded yet,  so I go back to the Recycling Bin thinking I can still retrieve them since I didn’t empty the bin yet, but to my HORROR.. they were all gone!

Since when does the Recycling Bin empty all by itself?! It needs permission to do that!! I swear this laptop as a mind of its own.. I’m probably getting a Macbook soon when the new school semester starts, so hopefully my tech stress will go away forever 😦

Anyways, I found some spring roll wrappers so I made 3 different healthy versions: Sweet Potato, Grilled Carrot & Apple Spring Rolls. I say they’re healthy because I baked them in the oven and it’s traditionally deep fried in a huge batch of oil.. boo to grease!

I never really measure anything, so the measurements aren’t anywhere close to being exact.. but here’s a rough outline of what I did:

Sweet Potato Filling:

  1. Peel and boil 3 medium sweet potatoes (amount depending on how much filling you want to make) until tender. 
  2. Mash with fork and add 1/4 cup chopped green onions, 4tbsp chile powder, salt & pepper, 1 minced garlic clove, 2 tbsp nf plain yogurt.
  3. Bake finished spring rolls (seam side down) in a 420 degree oven for 8 mins per side or until golden brown.

Obviously for the Apple & Grilled Carrot fillings, I thinly sliced them. You can also sprinkle a little sugar and cinnamon on top of the apples before rolling them.

There are so many ways to roll these babies up, here’s one:

Wet all edges of the wrapper with water. Place filling on the bottom corner and fold over.

Fold in the left & right sides, leaving a “point” at the top.

Roll up to the top and press edges together to ensure its sealed & VOILA!

Now this is when I would’ve put pictures of the finished spring rolls.. but apparantly my computer likes to makes its own decisions without my approval, so I’ll leave you to imagine them looking all pretty.

This ended up making about 50 spring rolls and I ate a couple of them dipped in salsa and nf plain yogurt! Sooo good. I’m really disappointed that I don’t have a picture to show you how DEEEELICIOUS they looked! I’m really not lying 😉  

I also went to the mall again yesterday (I have no idea why I keep setting myself up for disaster!) and picked up 2 jean shorts and a pair of grey heels from Old Navy.

CUTE! Them actually being comfortable is an added bonus!

The second dangerous place for me.. Shoppers. Everytime I go in there, a sale always gets to me leaving me to justify my purchases with.. “because they were on sale”. Boots No7 Primer (I get oily in the T-zone area so this stuff saves me from lookin like a little greaseball), Revlon Nail Polishes in Berries In the Snow & Perfect Pink.

We had Homemade Hot Pot again at one of my girlfriend’s houses last night while watching Knocked Up (my fifth time.. but I still laugh uncontrollably as if it were my first!) No picture 😦 but my plate was constantly filled with Chicken & Veggie Dumplings, baby corn, mushrooms, and broccoli!

Afterwards I met the bf up at a bonfire he was at with friends, and let’s just say that it’s 12 in the afternoon right now and he’s still passed out sleeping.

Make your weekends worth it, everybody!

Actions

Information

4 responses

7 06 2008
VeggieGirl

Wow, sounds like you had quite a late night last night – at least it was fun :0)

So sorry that you lost a lot of your photographs :0( But hey, the spring rolls and bagel sandwich look ESPECIALLY delicious – yum!

7 06 2008
Kelly T.

you make your own bagels? wow, im impressed.

i need to hit up old navy soon. I love their summer basics.

i still havent seem Knocked Up the whole way through. I just saw the birth scene and ran out of the room screaming.

7 06 2008
Kath

Thanks for that instructional on spring rolls! I need to try those soon…

8 06 2008
Kristie

Wow I really want to try making those spring rolls!

Loving the Old Navy clothes yet again. I think I’m going to have to avoid that store for the rest of the summer. Sigh.

I have SUCH oily skin, I’m definitely going to have to keep my eyes open for that make-up base next time I’m at Shoppers. I’m pretty excited about it haha, I really hope I can find it!

Leave a Reply

