Inside day..

22 05 2008

I remember in elementary school during recess and lunch there would be “inside” & “outside” days. You know, like if it was pouring rain then we were forbidden to go outside for breaks and it’d be so rebellious to step outside haha! Oh how I miss those inside days..

The bf and I both had our day off today from work, so I decided to make Cinnamon Raisin Pancakes for breakfast. Pancakes never really fill me up.. but eating them with a spoonful of natural pb on the side helps keep me satisfied for hours.

I posted it in the “Recipes” section because they were really tasty and it’s a bonus that they’re practically fat-free and made with 100% whole wheat flour. It’s funny how after I read the Skinny Bitch book, I’m suddenly deathly afraid of WHITE flour!

I made them into silver-dollar sizes since I wasn’t in the mood for massive, plate-sized pancakes today. Stupid me forgot to take a picture of their undersides where all of the raisin-y goodness is!

Here’s my portion (trust me it may look like a lot, but the pancakes were made really thin & small in diameter!) that I ate along with some homemade applesauce, a spoonful of natural pb, and a dollop of non-fat plain yogurt all topped with an extra sprinkling of cinnamon + more raisins. Could you tell I was a little indecisive about what I wanted to eat them with? Haha so that leads to eating them with a little bit of everything!

The bf totally SLATHERED the natural pb on his. Sorry you have to see his nasty looking thumb in this picture though.. Yep, he’s missing half of his nail now from a work accident: a box full of heavy tiles fell and literally stabbed his nail off! Yowza. But it’s okay now I guess, since he shows it to everyone like he’s some sort of proud freak show.. =/

Found some fresh pineapples in the fridge that the bf’s mom must’ve just cut this morning. I was so excited (a little too excited just over a container of pineapples..) when I saw them!!

Caught Cissi being the usual princess she is — all stretched out for a belly rub then crying if she doesn’t get what she wants. True diva

I was camera-less for the rest of the day since the bf’s sister needed it to borrow it for school. Boooo!

And the weather was not looking so nice today which meant we couldn’t go rollerblading along the Sea Wall as planned 😦 So to the gym it was! Before heading to the gym, I had two more C&R pancakes with a dab of pb as a pre-workout snack and had more of the pineapple when we got back.

My snacks before dinner were a handful of raisins (re-used picture =O!), a yogurt-covered pretzel sample at the grocery store, and a few walnuts to help tide me over.   

& here is a sad looking webcam picture of a really good dinner, Fish & Chips healthy style!

The Fish..

Salmon fillets coated in a batter made of:

  • 1 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tbsp lemon-pepper seasoning

Then baked in a 425 degree oven for about 20-25 minutes, flipping them over halfway through.

The “Chips”..

A very large yam cut into strips then tossed with a little olive oil and sprinkled evenly with a little:

  • Black pepper
  • Garlic salt
  • Paprika

And baked as well in a 425 degree oven for 20-25 minutes.

I ate my fish & chips along with some steamed broccoli w/ a squirt of lemon juice and a dash of pepper. I also wanted something along the lines of tartar sauce to eat with my fish without the fattyness of mayo so I made my own “Tartar Sauce” by mixing some nonfat plain yogurt, a tablespoon of sweet green relish, and a little pepper & paprika. It was the exact taste I was going for!

Actions

Information

3 responses

22 05 2008
VeggieGirl

Oh my, Cinnamon-Raisin pancakes?? Yum!! Love the homemade applesauce accompaniment; and you can’t go wrong with fresh pineapple :0)

Eek! Sorry about your boyfriend’s nail/finger – hope it heals soon!

Haha, the photograph of Cissi is priceless :0)

22 05 2008
Kristie

WOW, those pancakes sound really good, and I like that they are nice and small, perfect size!

I also really like the sounds of that salmon recipe, I’m going to give it a try soon!

Too bad about your boyfriend’s fingernail, that sounds so painful! Glad to hear it’s healing though.

22 05 2008
Richelle

Yeah the bf’s nail is growing really slow but in a sort of bubbly way? Haha not too attractive =/ but I guess it’s better than no nail at all!

VG – fresh pineapple is one my FAVORITE fruits ever! Along with ripe manila mangoes mMm can’t go wrong with fresh fruit!

Krisitie – you should def try out the salmon recipe, it was soo nice and crispy without that greasy taste, so much better than being fried in tons of oil 😉

Leave a Reply

