Back to work tomorrow:(

20 05 2008

Trusty bowl of oatmeal w/ flax, raisins and banana. I DO sometimes have different things for breakfast but I’m always pressed for time that my oats always win over everything else!

Went to the gym after breakfast and it was dead because it’s a holiday which means people aren’t in the mood to exercise? Who knows but good for me becaues I LOVE it when I don’t have to fight people for mat space!

Back home quickly whipped up lunch from whatever was still edible in the fridge.. grilled veggie quesadilla made with zucchini, orange bell pepper, lettuce, green onion, tomato sauce and a slice of deli chicken. I literally STUFFED the tortilla that the veggies overflowed on to the plate!

MmMm another go-to favorite of mine.. “Straw-nana” smoothie. I just fill up the blender with some frozen strawberries, 1/2 a banana, cinnamon, sweetener, skim milk and blend!

Dinner was all you can eat hot pot! It was our first time trying Chinese hot pot with two of our other friends. You basically cook everything in a boiling hot pot of broth on a heating plate in the middle of the table. I love it! It’s a lot of fun and better than Korean BBQ since it takes wayyyy less time to cook all the food (which works out for the best when you’re dying of hunger like I was at the time..)

I had mainly tofu and veggies (bok choy, Chinese fresh mushrooms, corn on the cob). But tried pretty much everything else as well.. tenderloin, dumplings/wontons, sticky rice, rice noodles, chicken, pork balls.

Everything was surprisingly good and tasty despite just being boiled in broth. It’s actually a really healthy meal too since no extra oil or anything else is added. Just the raw ingredients with a dipping sauce on the side for flavor. My new favorite! Definitely left full, but not stuffed

Back to dreaded WORK tomorrow! Funny how just one long weekend makes you dread work so much more..

Heading to the gym first thing in the morning tomorrow!

 

Actions

Information

5 responses

20 05 2008
VeggieGirl

Wow, all of your meals look delicious!

Good luck at work!

As a foodie and a fashionista, I LOVE the title of your blog :0) Looking forward to reading more blog posts.

21 05 2008
Kelly T.

oh man, I love hot pot. I love Korean BBQ, too. its the along the same lines as cooking in the middle of the table, but instead of in a pot, you cook it right on the grill. so good.

is that your bf? he looks EXACTLY like an ex of mine. well, not exactly, cause i know its not him. but close.

21 05 2008
Richelle

VG – thanks a lot! All of your dessert pictures are making me in the baking mood which is a bad thing because once I start baking I won’t stop! Luckily I have the day off tomorrow 😉

21 05 2008
Kristie

Hot Pot? Wow, I’ve never heard of it but it sounds like such a neat idea! I’ll have to look it up and see if they have something like that around here, I’d love to try it out!

21 05 2008
Richelle

Yeah hot pot is pretty much my new love. It’s awesome for the health-conscious too since there’s no frying or addition of anything else. Just boiling in the broth in the middle of your table and you’re in total control of the sauce/spices you eat with your food. I am so craving more of it right now……!

Leave a Reply

