First post!

15 05 2008

Well basically I started this blog since I became so obsessed with other’s sites. Even my boyfriend noticed my infatuation… “Why are you always looking at what Kath ate?!” Hahaha, obviously the Kath from one of my favorites: KathEats

So here I am with my own, hoping this will help keep the healthy balance between my love of food and staying active. Some quick facts about me.. I’m a student studying to one day become a Medical Radiologist, I live with my boyfriend + his parents, younger sister, and a diva for a dog in Vancouver, Canada. I love working out, yoga, sushi (I could literally eat Japanese food everyday), and cooking/baking. Also, I’m half a grandma and half a party-er! I love going out clubbing/partying with friends but sometimes I just want to stay in on a Friday night and bake oatmeal apple muffins, you know?

Today was the boyfriend (Nicky) and I’s day off. I love just having a day to do whatever

Nicky made my favorite for breakfast.. oatmeal with raisins, cinnamon, flax, and 1% milk. Had that along with a “Strawnana” smoothie (strawberries, bananas, non fat plain yogurt, cinnamon, splash of milk). Unfortunately no photo since I got the bright idea of starting a blog after I ate! 

Then headed to the gym. Bike, abs/back/arms work, finished off with tough intervals on the elliptical. 

Back home I had a pear to tide my hunger over while making enchiladas for lunch/dinner! Pears are definitely one of my favorite fruits. Behind mangoes and pineapples though 😉 

This is my second time making these. I never really had an enchilada but basically made them by looking at whatever we had in the fridge and threw it altogether!

I always start off with sauteing onions, garlic, red&green bell peppers, and canned corn. When the onions start to become translucent, I add the spices (cumin, paprika, fajita seasoning, garlic salt, black pepper) and tomato sauce. That’s my “base”. Then I did 3 different batches adding these combinations into the base:

– Black beans + spinach 

– Black beans + multigrain wild rice + ground beef

– Refried beans 

Stuff the filling in a whole wheat tortilla and sprinkle in some cheese (I used mozzarella since that’s what we had). Roll up like a burrito and place in a baking pan topping off with more tomato sauce (just to cover the surface) and another sprinkling with cheese. Bake until cheese melts.. and voila! Ready in under 30 minutes if you’re speedy like me 😉 

The whoooole enchilada! I had 1.5 of the spinach + corn + black bean enchilada.


Since that might not look too appetizing.. this close up shows its deliciousness mMmMm!

 

Finished off with some Baked Apple for dessert! Basically just microwaved a chopped apple (this one was MASSIVE), sprinkled some cinnamon and topped with a spoonful of nonfat plain yogurt.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

